Wool Week Day 1 – Monday

Shetland Wool Week has begun! the shelves were stocked..

IMG_0744

and Jamie Smith, our mascot (aka Sheep Cushion) was waiting for some woolly friends to arrive..

IMG_0730

and arrive they did! We began our Wool Week classes with a Colour knitting with Hazel Tindall, who brought some of her knitting to show the ladies

IMG_0758

and then had them choose a few colours and with lots of Hazels ‘peerie cloos’ (little balls) to try a bit of colour knitting

PicMonkey Collage

it looked very fun and the finished pieces looked lovely!

IMG_0760

in the afternoon Mary Henderson, who we met at Wool Week last year, gave a class all about Steeking! the class was centered around knitting a Mug Hug, and Mary focused the end of the class on steeking the knitting.. cutting up your knitting can be scary but Mary made it look easy.

IMG_0764

PicMonkey Collage2

all day the shop was full of customers even though the rain was lashing down outside, and this evening we went to the Wool Week opening ceremony which was to launch a new book about Shetland textiles, available from the Museum¬†Shop, and our fiddle tune competition ‘The Gansey’ won by Thomas Stove. Two musicians gladly came and played the tune for us which was lovely, the tune was inspired by the composers mothers knitting needles and you could really tell, there were lots of people videoing it so hopefully we’ll get to see it!

PicMonkey Collage3

all in all, a good first day so have a look again tomorrow to see whats been happening at J&S.

happy knitting x

About Jamieson&Smith

Real Shetland Wool
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wool Week Day 1 – Monday

  1. Congratulations one and all. I wish I could be there but my son, Adam will be joining you shortly. I am away on business, selling wool and also introducing Real Shetland wool products to customers around the world – including Jamieson and Smith yarns of course!
    I do hope you have some good weather – I know the classes are held inside but a bit of sunshine brings out the real beauty of the Shetland Islands and the wonderful natural shades and hues that are quite unique to that part of the world.
    By the way, Hazel is the world`s fastest knitter – and used to work for Haworth Scouring Company before emigrating to Shetland!
    Best wishes
    Martin

  2. Maria H says:

    What a lovely post! Looks like everyone had a wonderful time.
    J & S are my favorite wool and I am still working on getting my floats just right. My tension is way too large with the same needles I knit the body of a sweater with.
    I’ll keep on plugging away. Wish I were nearer.

  3. Gail Roche says:

    I am delighted to see you giving classes. That is what I look forward to when I come …maybe next year.

  4. Pingback: Wool Week Day 1 – Monday | Art and Social Practice

  5. Wish I was there – visited Shetland in June with some of my knitting group and went to see Hazel Tindall at her home, so saw some of her knits and had a lovely chat about knitting, wool etc. Maybe next year! Have fun everyone x

  6. Nisse says:

    Thank you for writing these blog posts, it makes those of us who aren’t able to come to Shetland this wool week still able to enjoy some of it! The book looks amazing! A definite want for me!

  7. SL Mills says:

    THANK YOU so much for fabulous reporting – -I am so JEALOUS — I want to be there!!!!! I was fortunate enough to visit late this summer and have the monster mitts pattern – -but the cushion is calling me — will wait til the end to see all that is coming! Knitters might want to stop by the Shetland Soap Co. for Crofters Hand Cream – works wonders on knitting weary fingers! THANKS AGAIN for sharing — will be participating from afar!

  8. curtthesheepMartin Curtis – Just to correct your comment, I moved from Shetland to England for 11 years (when I did for a time work at Lees Mill in Haworth, in the same building as Haworth Scouring Company, though I worked for Whitaker Fibres Ltd whose MD was also a director of the scouring company.) Then I returned to live in Shetland.

  9. curtthesheep says:

    Thanks Hazel. Also many thanks for all your work at Shetland Wool Week. I think it went very well and gives us a great platform to plan for 2014!

Leave a Reply

