wool week day 3

Just one class today, but it was a good een! A whole day of lace with Gudrun Johnston

Gudrun had the group making a mini shawl, such a good idea to try out different techniques but achieve something tangible from the day. We made sure the group left with enough wool and the pattern for Gudruns latest pattern for us: Loren

everyone knitting away.

Then tonight we had an evening of chatting about lace. Local lace legend Mary Kay was there, Gudrun talked about her lace knitting and the lovely Monique Boonstra spoke about her lace making including the stole she recreated from half a photo in the Shetland Museum Photo archives!!

 I cant believe its Wednesday already. More pictures tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “wool week day 3

  1. carys davies October 11, 2012 / 4:41 pm

    I’m loving the blog – thanks for all the photos and links. Maybe next year I will be there!

  2. Jan..aka DutchJan October 11, 2012 / 10:08 pm

    I am so Happy that Monique was invited to speak at Shetland Woolweek this year!. Love this blog and really miss Shetland. So nice to get a tweet by Ammerins from the lovely Sandra..she is my favourite shopgirl at J&S and the fastest FairIsle knitter I know..

  3. Lis October 12, 2012 / 6:36 am

    Its the most beutiful knittings I have seen. I love those fine Lace knittings and wish I could do the same.

    Lis

Leave a Reply

