Wool Week Opening Ceremony

IMG_3560

So today saw the opening ceremony of this years Wool Week, it was held in Mareel and there were lots and lots of visitors around!

IMG_3556For something different this year different textile makers and yarn producers all had a table to show off our wares to all the visitors. It worked great and we got to speak to lots of people

IMG_3559It was hard to know what to bring so I just took a selection of the yarns and products we make. It was inspiring to see the other makers too, like Mati Ventrillon

IMG_3564Linda Shearer and Ina Irvine, mother and daughter super knitters from Whalsay

IMG_3566 IMG_3568

And Kathleen Anderson, a beautiful lace knitter

IMG_3570

As well as lots of others. Of course like last year there was the fabulous Fair Isle Cake!

IMG_3577

and lots of Shwook hats to be seen, the exclusive pattern designed by Hazel Tindall, patron of this years Wool Week

IMG_3574 IMG_3581

Oliver was one of the speakers who opened Wool Week, and as always it was interesting to hear from him the origins of Shetland Wool Week and amazing to see how far it has come!

IMG_3588

Cheers to a great Wool Week!!

7 thoughts on “Wool Week Opening Ceremony

  1. Nancy October 5, 2014 / 9:42 pm

    Thank you for sharing these wonderful photos. These posts are real eye candy for those of us who wish we were with you. The finished pieces are beyond stunning!!!
    Keep the posts coming, we love to see the up-to-date news on how Shetland Wool Week is going. These photos are so inspirational.

  2. 1018le October 6, 2014 / 3:21 am

    Thanks for the news from the Wool Week Opening Ceremony! I was totally taken by one of the patterns. It is the lace pattern, just prior to the picture of the Fair Isle Cake photo. It looks like a knitted cape. PLEASE help me to find the pattern or kit! I know you are busy, but I would so appreciate your help. I so want to knit this design! Thanks! Joyce A. Lowder 🙂

  3. Andy October 6, 2014 / 4:45 am

    I am in LOVE with J&S Yarns. So wish I was there to touch and feel meet and great. Thanks for sharing. Happy Wool Week!

  4. Claudia October 6, 2014 / 9:44 am

    Enjoy your Wool Week! How I wish I could be there …

  5. carolscreativeworkshops.net October 6, 2014 / 12:25 pm

    Wow that cake looks impressive! I took my knitting group to Shetland last summer. We had a lovely walk round St Ninian’s Isle where we collected lots of cast off bit of sheeps’ fleece which one of number plans to spin into yarn, we went up to the heritage centre in Unst & saw the lace knitting and the wool filled bus stop, we visited Hazel TIndall in her home, ate delicious seafood in the Scalloway hotel, walked around the bronze age ruins in the rain, soaked up the atmosphere in the Crofter’s museum, visited the spinning mill in Sandness, took the arts & crafts trail and bought knitwear from Neilanell, and, of course visited the Textile museum in the Bod, the main museum in Lerwick, saw a fiddle frenzy at Mareel, and bought lots of wool from Jamieson & Smith!! I bought a Kate Davies tea cosy kit for my mum (who hails from Aberdeen but moved to London at age 21) and a Hazel Tindall waistcoat pattern & lots of yarn …. We plan to come back for wool week one year and I now have a friend living & teaching in Lerwick – Jenny McHardy of Nervous Stitch, whom I met when we both worked for Rowan Yarns based in Liberty of London. Look forward to reading all your wool week posts. Thankyou

  6. Laurie Weinsoft October 6, 2014 / 6:28 pm

    So jealous. I wish I could be there. I just returned from a short trip to Seattle, Washington to attend the Nordic Knitting Conference which was fantastic. None of our teachers, Mary Jane Mucklestone was headed to your wool week. Take her class if you can she is a wonderful teacher. I shall be knitting on Shetland yarns in honor of your wol week. I can at least pretend I am there. Send more pictures.

  7. mudarissa October 7, 2014 / 9:28 am

    O I soooo want to go one year! I’ve never been to Shetland and it’s high on my wish list of places to visit so perhaps I’ll work on going while wool week is on.

Leave a Reply

