Up Helly Aa 2015

torch cloos
My yarn ‘torches’

One day to go til Lerwick Up Helly Aa! I cant believe it was one year ago when head wool man at J&S, also known as Oliver was in the 2014 Jarl Squad (see here and here for more details)

viking helmet

some details of Olivers 2014 suit from my Up Helly Aa window
some details of Olivers 2014 suit from my Up Helly Aa window

But now its another squads turn to be the Jarl Squad! For those who dont know, Up Helly Aa is a fire festival held all over Shetland, tomorrows Up Helly Aa, the biggest of the lot, is in Lerwick and the whole day is given over to Vikings.. the night-time torchlight procession (live feed can be watched here!) contains over 800 men and results in the burning of a Viking Galley.

a photo from last years procession
a photo from last years procession

After the procession, local halls are open and there is a big night of dancing! Each of the squads involved (usually about 40-50!) are dressed up and come up with an ‘act’ for the people in the halls. understandably Wednesday is a public holiday in Shetland so we wont be open, but we’ll be back at work on Thursday.

Til then, happy knitting and Happy Up Helly Aa!!

2 thoughts on “Up Helly Aa 2015

  1. Susan January 26, 2015 / 5:10 pm

    What a STUNNING costume Oliver is wearing! Amazing and intricate. Have fun and stay safe!!
    I’ll be watching……..

  2. Jean Franklin January 27, 2015 / 1:53 pm

    Wish I could be there, I visited Lerwick in 2000 with the North American Shetland Sheep Breeders Association. My flock grew to 51, before I broke my leg (3 places and shattered my knee cap) pitching hay and had to give them up 2010. Jean Franklin, Spin Web Ranch.

Leave a Reply

