Natalia’s Yoke

2

Today we have an exciting new pattern to share, we often get asked about childs yoke cardigan patterns, much like our adult Hairst Yoke. This is one of the many kinds of patterns Shetlanders pass down generation to generation which makes it difficult to find a traditional pattern to make, but now Sandra has designed one for us!

(7)

The cardigan is called the Natalia Yoke, named after our very cute model and Kharis’ niece. It is knit using 2ply Jumper Weight and comes in sizes 22 inches up to 28″. It is knit traditionally in the round with a steek but it also includes instructions for if you wanted to knit it flat, the relatively small size makes it a great first steeking project, and as there are only 3 different contrast shades a great first Fair Isle project too.

If you would like to order the kit for the Natalia yoke you can do so on our website here!

happy knitting!

14 thoughts on “Natalia’s Yoke

  1. Jeanie March 23, 2016 / 2:37 pm

    How sweet.

    Pity the grammar is bad in the mail.
    It should be either, ” a child’s yoke cardigan” or “children’s yoke cardigan,”
    Also, is the name “Khari” or “Kharis”?
    Don’t schools teach the use of the apostrophe any more? Or does no one really care in Britain?

  2. Kate Davies March 23, 2016 / 3:44 pm

    I have to say, Jeanie, that your remarks seem pedantic rather than helpful too me . This is a blog post letting you know about the publication of a cardigan pattern – not the Times Literary Supplement. I’ve got a PhD in English Literature and couldn’t care less about apostrophes in this context.

  3. Kate Davies March 23, 2016 / 3:45 pm

    oh dear – I typed too quickly and an extra ‘o’ crept in to my to. MANY apologies, Jeanie, for this heinous error.

  4. Kristie Hammond March 23, 2016 / 4:04 pm

    What a sweet pattern, and the model is adorable. Also, I want to say Bravo!, Kate. 🙂

  5. Kharis March 23, 2016 / 6:37 pm

    Hi Jeanie, Ella does know my name, thank you for your concern. I’m sorry apostrophe misplacement causes you such distress, that’s no way to live.

  6. Eleanor MacLean March 23, 2016 / 7:06 pm

    What a beautiful pattern! I love your designs.

  7. Martin Curtis March 23, 2016 / 7:08 pm

    I am beginning to appreciate these patterns and designs in Real Shetland wool more and more – probably because I am a grandfather for the first time!
    I can see these lovely hand knitted garments being handed down from generation to generation. I know they will last forever if cared for and they never lose their charm.
    Doing research for the Real Shetland Yarns book which Jamieson and Smith produced and reading all the short stories I learned a lot about the heritage of the wool industry and how vital it was for crofters and sheep farmers.
    It isn’t rocket science, it is more important than that!
    Many thanks for creating all these wonderful things from Real Shetland wool. It is as nature intended.

  8. Sharon March 23, 2016 / 8:03 pm

    A beautiful pattern!

    Wow, such rudeness Jeanie! Totally not necessary.

  9. Lee March 23, 2016 / 11:38 pm

    Love the pattern. Sweet!

  10. Lydia March 24, 2016 / 12:50 am

    A very lovely pattern and the sweetest model too… I know three little girls who may well be wearing them one day!

  11. Lydia March 24, 2016 / 12:55 am

    Hello again… I do already have lots of Jamieson & Smith yarn quietly waiting for me.. I wonder if this lovely pattern will be available separately from a kit?

  12. Kharis March 24, 2016 / 8:43 am

    Hi Lydia, you can purchase the pattern on it’s own by contacting us on 01595 693579 or at sales@shetlandwoolbrokers.co.uk. At the moment the online shop only has the complete kit, we’re hoping to offer single patterns online in the near future.

  13. Lydia March 26, 2016 / 9:55 am

    Thank you Kharis for letting me know…

  14. carolscreativeworkshops.net March 28, 2016 / 2:23 pm

    Lovely, beautifully knitted. I too have a bag or so of Jamieson & Smith yarn waiting to be knitted up. Of course, now it’s Spring, so I’ll probably get on to cotton, or a wool/cotton mix. Many UFOs accumulate with the season. My usual activity of feltmaking allows me to finish things in one day! I love knitting though.

Leave a Reply

