J&S Staff Profile: Kharis Leggate

This is the third post in the series about the people who work at J&S, Kharis has been doing the series so today its me (Ella) who gets to introduce her! Kharis has been working at J&S for nearly two years now and we don’t know what we did without her, she manages and organises all the Wholesale and trade customers and orders – a big task when you look now at our stockists page! You might think to work at J&S you need to be a knitter – which Kharis is – but she is also a weaver which is great as it means there is another craft we can give advice on, Kharis makes beautiful cushions using J&S yarns which you can see in the links at the bottom of the post.

me crop

What’s the best thing about working at J&S?

“There are so many things I love but the main one is getting to work with my creative and hilarious colleagues every day!”

Do you have a favourite place in Shetland?

“Probably my most favourite place is Westsandwick on Yell, one of the North Isles. My Mam is from here and it’s where we spent all our holidays growing up, it’s like a second home.”

2016.09.03 25.soothtoon
Sooth Toon, Westsandwick (Kharis Leggate)

“Other places on the Westside like Clousta and East Burrafirth, and up North like Eshaness and Hillswick I love too.”

hillswick
Hillswick (Kharis Leggate)

How do you like to spend your time when you’re not working at J&S?

“I like combining walking, photography and writing. I use my camera, pen and notebook to capture atmosphere, colour and texture ideas for weaving inspiration as well as for use in my blog. My handweaving work is mainly interior fabrics for cushions and blankets. I’m planning to develop upholstery designs as well as try out some pieces incorporating botanical dye techniques.”

loom 2crop

“I also love yoga! Vinyasa Flow and Kundalini are the styles I practice most online through Yogaglo, a few of my favourite teachers are Tiffany Cruikshank, Jo Tastula, Amy Ippoliti and Kia Miller. And, of course, I knit!”

What’s your favourite J&S yarn?

“It has to be 2ply Jumper Weight, preferably on cone as that makes winding a warp for weaving a lot easier. I tend to gravitate towards the marled and more muted shades. Favourites at the moment are 1280, 2, 1284, FC61 and FC62.”

yarn

You can follow Kharis on:

Instagram

Home is an Island blog

Home is an Island shop

Ravelry

Twitter

Facebook

 

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “J&S Staff Profile: Kharis Leggate

  1. Susan March 31, 2017 / 6:01 pm

    Thank you for alerting us to another wonderful craft person!

Leave a Reply

