Voe Show 2017

hello everyone, happy Monday! We have had a busy time of Shows this past week or so, I thought I’d begin with the first one we went to last Saturday which was Voe! it dawned a bit damp but we are pretty used to that around here..

The main reason I (Ella) headed us was to judge the Colourbox Competition we now host every year with the Voe, Cunningsburgh and Waas Agricultural Shows. Each year we choose a selection of 8 colours which must be used to make something using at least 5 of the 8 colours. This this then broken down into categories within that. Voe has the most entries and they have lots of categories for the Colourbox, this years shades were selected from the Heritage yarn so it was really interesting to see what people made with the more traditional colours.

You have to choose an overall trophy for the Colourbox and the cardigan below was the winner, it was beautifully made and I thought the colours were expertly put together..

The Voe Show has lots of other lovely knitwear on display, from Lace to Fair Isle with everything in between. I always love to see all the skills we have in Shetland and its so inspiring to see it all together.

After I had done my judging I went around and looked at everything else, they’re is so much to see from animals to flowers and you can spend hours wandering around.. quite happily I add!

I hope you enjoyed this peerie peek into this years Voe Show, I’ll be back in a couple of days with the round up from the Cunningsburgh Show, happy knitting!

9 thoughts on “Voe Show 2017

  1. Laurie Weinsoft August 14, 2017 / 3:57 pm

    The designs on the hats and mittens are wonderful. I may have to save these pictures for inspiration.

  2. debtotten August 14, 2017 / 4:41 pm

    I love the heather basket. I bet it smells amazing!

  3. Barbara Gerner de Garcia August 14, 2017 / 9:32 pm

    I’d say this was the best Colourbox selection of entries yet! Just gorgeous!

  4. susan August 14, 2017 / 9:43 pm

    What a treat you gave us. Could look at these all day! Thanks.

  5. NancyMac August 15, 2017 / 3:15 am

    What stunning knitting, such a lovely basket of heather and oooh all those faces of Oo on the hoof! Thank you for sharing the inspiration.

  6. janstebarra August 15, 2017 / 11:27 am

    Thanks Ella, I too, could look at these all day! What incredible work! I’m in awe of all those beautiful knits. Just glad I didn’t have to choose the winners! Fabulous photos from the rest of the show as well.

  7. Marilyn F. August 18, 2017 / 3:00 pm

    What a lovely tour of this event. So much fun to see it all. Great knits, sheep and dog, and the heather basket at the end is postcard perfect. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

