Last Few Days of Wool Week 2016

I hope you liked our post last week about the classes at J&S during Wool Week, again I’m sorry it was so brief, I still can’t get over how busy it was! We were still working on Saturday but I nipped out quickly to visit the Makers Market at Islesburgh – which was pinned! Its a great chance for local makers and small yarn producers to show what they make to a very appreciative public.

img_9827
My (Ella’s) Dad Smirk was there with Cartoons
img_9830
Foula Wool
img_9839
Students from the Textiles Course at the Shetland College
img_9832
Kathy Coull was there with Fair Isle Yarn
img_9834
The always bright and cheerful Neilanell knitwear
img_9838
busy busy!

I came back from the Makers Market and me and Sandra headed up for a quick look at the Marts, every year the Flock Book have the sale of Pure Shetland Sheep and Lambs, its always good to see the Sheep (reminds you what Wool Week is all about!) Scott who works in the Woolstore had been there all morning as Oliver and Jan were judging the wool on the hoof so the next photos are all taken by him

410a3397

 410a33792410a3549

410a3505

410a3400

410a3385

410a3367

410a3323

Vispring always provides the sponsorship for the Fine Wool and I was asked to present it to the winners:

410a3576
Me with the White Lamb and Coloured Lamb winners
410a3567
l-r: Lamb White winner and Overall Champion, Coloured Lamb winner, Adult White winner and Coloured Adult Winner.

On Sunday after a bit of a lie in I headed out to Tingwall for the Sunday Teas held by the Guild, its one of my favourite bits of Wool Week..

img_9871

img_9857

img_9870

As well as the lovely food there are brilliant displays of the Work of the Guild which is always so inspiring!

img_9862
Sue Arthurs Handspun Handknitted Jumper
img_9864
Kathleen Andersons Lovely Lace
img_9865
Hazel Tindall’s beautiful Fair Isle

I hope you’ve enjoyed this more relaxed look at the last few days of Wool Week, we are just about recovered, but already looking forward to next year.

Happy Knitting!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

7 responses to “Last Few Days of Wool Week 2016”

  1. jemtext Avatar
    jemtext

    Was a superb wool week, thanks for even more pictures and text. Counting down the days to the next one – and only got home yesterday afternoon!

  2. sophy0075 Avatar
    sophy0075

    Thank you for posting these wonderful photos. This is the absolute best way to count sheep!

    I’m wondering if you might know the pattern for the cap in natural colours with the beautiful star on top that’s above the “Vispring” text.

  3. Sheila McMillan Avatar
    Sheila McMillan

    These pictures are great! Thank you for posting them. It encourages me to dream of attending Shetland Wool Week. Maybe one of these years I can actually be a part of this and not just enjoying the posts.

  4. Susan Avatar
    Susan

    Wool on the Hoof! great expression……..my sister, when looking at sheep on the hillside would say, Look at all those little sweaters up there 🙂
    Thanks for the photos, that jumper by Sue Arthur took my breath away!!!

  5. Michelle McMillen Avatar

    I loved seeing ALL of it – with a soft spot for the wee sheep!

  6. Karen M. Avatar
    Karen M.

    Wonderful pictures, the only way I will not be at Wool Week next year is if I cannot get time off work.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Photos

Unless otherwise stated all photos are property and copyright of Jamieson & Smith (Shetland Woolbrokers LTD). Please do not use our photographs without our permission.